FreehoIder Incumbents Swept in 2015 – but Voter turnout was LOW

Published On November 4, 2015 » 786 Views» By Charles Powers » Bergen County Electoral Forums, Non-Partisan Bergen Freeholder Candidate Forum Information
0 stars
Register to vote!

Democratic Freeholder Candidates won decisively in 2015; the then current Board stayed the same through 2016;
Bergen County voter turnout was better than state average – but clearly the lowest in 3 years

Incumbent winners

The three Republican party and two third party challenger candidates for three Bergen County Freeholder Board positions fell far short as the incumbent Democratic slate won by very substantial margins in the November 3 2015 general election. Steve Tannelli and Tracy Zur won re-election for full 3-year terms and each will then be serving a 2nd term. Tannelli and Zur won by more than 13 thousand votes over all three challengers. Thomas Sullivan was running as the Bergen Democratic county committee appointee to fill part of the unexpired term of James Tedesco (who was elected County Executive in the 2014 election). Sullivan successfully ran against 2 opponents to continue for the final year of that unexpired Tedesco term and won by more than 17 thousand votes.

Bergen County saw a 27% turnout of its eligible voters — a number well above the state-wide average of 21%, but very far below the turnout for the two prior November elections – both of which drew more than 42%. (Freeholder elections for the seven-member Board are held every year to elect members for 3-year terms. Normally two would have been chosen in 2015; three will be selected in 2016 and two 2017 — unless for some reason an elected member does not complete a term, as was the case in 2015, of course.

Here are the results of the Freeholder elections for 2013, 2014, 2015. Click here to see the full Bergen County results on the Clerk’s website.  It is interesting to note that had candidate Mitchell obtained his 2013 vote total in this year (2015) he would have won by nearly 30 thousand votes over his two 2015 Democratic opponents.

2015 Freeholder Graphic









2014 Freeholder graphic2013 Freeholder Graphic

Share this post

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *